Cinnamon Rolls

September 14, 2014 § Leave a comment

cinnamon_rolls-1cinnamon_rolls-1-3cinnamon_rolls-1-4

I forgot how much the smell of cinnamon recalls cold weather fantasies of reading books fireside and fall hikes in damp, decomposing forests. I was reminded last night when I put these in the preheated oven and let my mind go there – to fall and, dare I say it, winter. If you ever find yourself in a situation where you can’t agree on anything with the person you’re talking to talk about the weather changing from summer to fall – common ground for days. Or, hand one of these cinnamon rolls to that person and watch all animosity melt away.

I used this recipe for my first ever cinnamon rolls (!). I wasn’t feeling sassy enough for the cayenne pepper, but I’ll most likely incorporate in the future. The frosting recipe makes way too much so I’m going to cut it in half next time. These are of the gooey variety so if that’s the type of cinnamon roll you like, make these. They also have a creamy, caramel frosting that melts into the cinnamon and is so decadent.

P.S. I don’t have a stand mixer or a rolling pin. I used my hands to knead the dough after I mixed the ingredients with a wooden spoon, and jerry-rigged a large glass to use as a rolling pin.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cinnamon Rolls at Summerlandia.

meta

