This Bountiful Season We’re In

July 11, 2014 § Leave a comment

I promised myself I would make weekly trips to the farmer’s market this summer since we didn’t sign up for a CSA. This is the first summer in the last few years we didn’t sign up for a CSA, but it was for a very exciting/about time reason – we’re going to Europe for 2 weeks!

As with most things that require me to get up early on Saturday mornings and forego curling up on the couch and reading the latest New Yorker with a steaming coffee in my hand, it hasn’t happened as much as I wanted it to – or at all, yet (yet, I swear!). The result: me spending boo coo dollars at Outpost. Honestly, though, the food part of our budget is something I don’t mind busting. I mean, it technically is part of the medicine/hobby/entertainment categories. Can you tell I was the youngest child? It was a GREAT training ground on the pillars of persuasion.

I miss our CSA. I miss the convenience of not going to the grocery store as much. I miss the dirt on the vegetables (usually a sign that your veggies were not put through a factory). I miss the surprise of what each week will bring, and then the search for recipes to try. And then the making of those recipes. And then the eating of those recipes (favorite part). 

I think the ghost of all-the-CSA-recipes-that-could’ve-been has been haunting me. Nudging me. Whispering softly in my ear with garlic scape laced breath.  I have been a woman possessed, making every kind of salad concoction I can think of – specifically using ingredients and pairings I never have before.

I’m not really into rating salads, except as good or not good. There is no #1 salad out there in my book. There are delicious seasonally/time of day/mood appropriate salads. The fun thing to do is: 1) make a large base of quinoa, zucchini noodles (or shredded carrots) and roasted chickpeas (with a dash of S&P of course) 2) place them in separate containers in the fridge 3) each morning, depending on your mood, add Siracha, mint and a squeeze of lemon, or spinach and roasted tomato and cumin vinaigrette, or peanut sauce and green onions, or oregano, sautéed red onions and goat cheese.

See where I’m going with this? Endless possibilities. Or if there is an end I’ve got the wherewithal to find it. At least right now in this bountiful season we’re in.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This Bountiful Season We’re In at Summerlandia.

meta

